expect a miracle

Unpublished Work © 2011 Cristina Carlino

do you remember the fable of henny penny? the poor, dear chicken had something drop on her head, panicked and jumped to the conclusion that the sky was falling. her fear quickly turned to frenzy as she scrambled to deliver the bad news to every chicken she could find on her route to warn the king.   then, just at the moment she was about to reach the castle, something dropped on henny’s head yet again that  she discovered was in fact, not the sky, but  rather a small nut falling from the tree. once upon a time, as a child, i heard that tale and giggled. now, i have empathy for my little chicken friend. i get it. when i’m in fear, i contract. when i feel truth, my creativity expands.

these are undoubtedly unnerving times. it seems the whole world is in the midst of some kind of creative reconstruction. i don’t pretend to know the answers. but i do know i’m not alone with the numbers who have stopped watching or listening to so much news. bad news travels fast and we have more channels of delivery for it. bad news and gossip is big business. fear sells. this is not news. and it doesn’t have to be my reality today. there is a proverb that goes like this: “that the birds of worry fly above my head, i cannot change. that they build nests in my hair, i can prevent.”

this blog is not about the economy, oil spills, war, tornadoes or bed bugs. for me this about practicing faith – literally in action and not only in words. practicing optimism without being blind to reality. i am deeply concerned. and the reality is that wonderful changes are also happening every day.   even if they are harder to find on the internet. you have only to look into the eyes of a small child to be humbled into recalling  that the universe may well be far more creative than we are.  what do they see when they look in our eyes? children will pick up our fear. just as we have from our parents and built a culture out of it. perhaps we are, as a nation, becoming adults. growing up. perhaps we are being given the dignity to see the consequences of some of our actions. and the opportunity to make new choices.

i can only begin with me. here i am in this moment. to be still. if only for a minute before i react.  i am alive.  today the stock market is falling and the sky isn’t. i will expect a miracle.  it takes less energy but more courage than expecting disaster. will you join me?

6 responses to “expect a miracle

  1. Wonderful!! Thank u for the positive energy. Now I am waiting for a changing room for aunts who adore the little guys and girls who color their world.

  2. This is such a beautiful blog, beautiful thought I am trying not to cry (because I’m going to a meeting in about 2 minutes). I am writing down “practicing optimism without being blind to reality” on a sticky on my phone. It’s great to be inspired in the middle of my day when I’ve got a little energy drain going. Cristina, please develop some affirmation cards to be carried with us. I’ve made some of my own from some of your blogs, articles of ideas I want to carry with me– if they fit in a wallet that would be perfect I have some from Hay House ones but they are too big and for some reason your thoughts really ring true with me!
    Warmest regards,
    Lisa

  3. cookbookapprentice

    This is beautifully written and inspiring, I couldn’t agree with you more. It is so easy to get caught up with the birds of worry flying over my head. I have often been guilty of allowing them to build nests in my hair and I am working very hard everyday to look ahead and up and embrace all that’s positive. I wrote a blog entry about this and would love it if you had a chance to read it. http://cookbookapprentice.wordpress.com/2010/07/30/hiking-health-and-a-healthy-brown-rice-breakfast/

    I’m subscribing to your blog and look forward to more inspiring pieces as I move forward in my journey. Have a great day.

  4. wonderful!! thank you for the positive energy. I am waiting for a changing room for those of us who are lucky enough to have little guys and girls who also color our world!

Leave a Reply

